Built in 1891 for a cost of £1,574, the original clubhouse was unkindly described as a ‘box-framed’ salon with its Elizabethan design and half-timbered main gable. The designer, Hall Blyth a Past Captain of the Club was an engineer but not an architect and it would be interesting to know exactly what he thought when he introduced this exotic pattern to Muirfield. Over the passage of time, and modified by subsequent extensions, the clubhouse now harmonises well with both the landscape and the buildings on either side. It sits behind the 18th green as one of the truly iconic images in world championship golf.
The clubhouse is delightfully traditional and full of character. All the main public rooms look out onto the course and have an interesting selection of pictures, and memorabilia. At the west end of the clubhouse near the entrance gates is the ladies’ Locker Room with the adjacent Captain’s Room and Muirfield Room. At the far end of the building is the men’s Locker Room with a Smoking Room and Dining Room between.
The staff pride themselves on the quality of service enjoyed by Members, their guests and visitors and try to give everyone at Muirfield a truly memorable experience.